Free up Disk Space on Broadsign Server

All videos and templates used in messages and emergency messages are uploaded to Broadsign Server. It may happen that your domain on Broadsign Server is low on disk space, affecting the space you need to buy. It could thus be useful to know which messages take up the most space to delete them.

All videos and templates used in messages and emergency messages are uploaded to Broadsign Server. To manage the limited disk space on Broadsign Server, Broadsign Publish performs the following tasks:

  • Automatically delete from Broadsign Server the videos and templates that are not in use.
  • Automatically delete from Broadsign Server the videos and templates that are used in expired messages.

The Your Messages and Your Emergencies pages of Broadsign Publish offer a Size column that allows you to determine what are the largest messages.

For more information on domain quotas, see Domain Quota in the Broadsign Control documentation.

Tip: Deleting messages does not affect the videos and templates that are stored in the Your Library page of Broadsign Publish.

Note: Only users with the Can prepare an emergency message permission can view the Your Emergencies page. If you need this permission, contact your domain administrator. For more information, see Users and Groups Permissions.

To free space on Broadsign Server:

  1. On the Your Messages or Your Emergencies page, click the Size column to sort the messages according to their ascending or descending size.
  2. Define which message you want to delete, and click the icon on the far right of that message.
  3. In the window that is displayed, click Delete.